Magic and Miraculous Items

Activating Items

Potions

Using a Potion simply requires drinking it. If a Potion contains multiple doses of a single effect, then the effect can be gained by drinking a sufficient portion (that slot of the potion is then permanently consumed). If a Potion contains multiple effects, then the effects can only be gained by drinking the entire Potion (all slots of the potion are permanently consumed).

Example: G’Mord is given two vials, one containing two doses of Fire Skin 4 and the other containing a Heal Wounds 14 and a Heal Life 14. Drinking half of the Fire Skin 4 Potion gives him the benefits of the spell, and leaves him one more dose. Drinking half of the healing Potion will have no effect – he won’t have drunk enough to gain either miracle. He needs to drink the entire Potion to gain the benefits of the miracles.

Note that you do not need to be conscious to drink a potion, it can be poured down your throat.

Scrolls

Scrolls require the relevant School/Path Runes skill and the ability to cast spells/miracles from the appropriate School, Path or Sect. Using a Scroll involves reading the Scroll and providing the Mana/Standing to empower the effect. The character takes no casting damage when casting a spell/miracle from a Scroll as it acts as a focus. After using a Scroll, it is irrevocably destroyed.

Example: Caffrey has been given a Scroll consecrated to Justice (and hence written in Justice Runes) which contains the level 5 miracle Bless 6. When he uses the Scroll he does not take the usual 5 Life Points of casting damage and the Scroll is destroyed.

Example: If a Life priest through some hero ability knew Death Runes (not usually possible), he still wouldn’t be able to use a Summon Undead Servant 1 Scroll since he cannot cast Death miracles.

Scrolls follow the same Casting Requirements as for casting a spell/miracle normally (though you may hold the scroll in your hand). So, you need at least the same number of words as the equivalent spell/miracle on the scroll, which must be read out to cast it. You cannot just say “Item do thy work” like other magic items.

Scrolls also require you to follow other standard rules for casting e.g. metal armour Casting Penalty etc.

If the Standing/Mana is lost then the scroll is destroyed (e.g. if the spell/miracle casting is interrupted).

Single Use

Before a Single Use item can be activated, it must first be attuned to by the user.

Single Use items are activated by thinking about the desired effect, touching the item and saying “Item do thy work” at least at a normal speaking volume for each effect you want to activate.

When used, if the item only contains Single Use effects and the last has been used, it becomes just a mundane item and must be prepared again.

Charged

Before a Charged item can be activated, it must first be attuned to by the user.

Charged items are activated by thinking about the desired effect, touching the item and saying “Item do thy work” at least at a normal speaking volume for each charge you want to release.

When used, the item loses one of its charges.

Example: Craise has an Amulet of Drain Wounds 8, with 3 charges. When used, Craise thinks about the Drain Wounds, touches the amulet and says “Item do thy work”. He then has to touch a target with both hands within 30 seconds. Immediately on activation, the Amulet loses a charge.

Daily

Before a Daily item can be activated, it must first be attuned to by the user.

Daily items are activated by thinking about the desired effect, touching the item and saying “Item do thy work” at least at a normal speaking volume for each effect you want to activate.

When used, it cannot be used again for another 24 hours.

Permanent

Before a user can gain the benefits of a Permanent item that effects the user, it must first be attuned to by the user.

Permanent items with a spell/miracle that affects the item itself can be used immediately.

Example: G’Mord finds a Sword with a Permanent Flame Blade 4. As the effect target’s the item, he gains the benefit of the effect immediately when he uses the weapon.

Permanent items are always active (and cannot be turned off), with the spell/miracle either affecting the item or its user.

If a Permanent effect is dispelled, the effect is suppressed for 15 minutes. During this time, if all the effects are suppressed, the item appears to be non-magical.

Example: G’Mord has a Sword with a Permanent Flame Blade 4. During combat, his Flaming Sword is affected by a Dispel 4. This suppresses the Flame Blade 4 for 15 minutes and, as the Sword has no other enchantments, it is treated as a normal weapon.

For permanent items that affect the wearer:

  • When you put it on, it takes 15 minutes for the effect to work on you (assuming you are attuned to the item).
  • When you take it off, the effect disappears instantly.

Permanent Items containing Non-Stackable effects (Endurance, <Path/School Resistance>, Mighty Blow, Shattering Blow, Mirror Image, <School> Form) refresh their effect one per hour. Supressing the effect or taking the item off and putting it on again does not affect this timer (But will allow for another effect to be cast of the same type)

Example: Reena has a Permanent Item of Mighty Blow 1. In a fight she uses a Mighty Blow against an enemy. An hour later she can use Mighty Blow from the item again.

Attunement

Before a character can activate certain magic/miraculous items (see above), he must claim it for his own and it must be in his possession for 24 hours. At the end of this time the character becomes attuned to the item and is made aware of all of its spells/miracles. Only one character can be attuned to an item at any one time. As soon as a new character becomes attuned, the previous owner can no longer use the item. Alternatively, the General spell “Magic Attunement” allows a character to attune to an item without waiting for 24 hours.

Example: G’Mord has been given a Ring of Dexterity 2. Before he gains the benefit of the item he needs to claim it, put it on and then spend 24 hours with it in his possession.

Claiming an item is as simple as believing the item belongs to the character, using it appropriately (i.e. putting it on if it is wearable, placing it in a scabbard, wielding it, etc.). In particular, a wearable item cannot be claimed without wearing it for at least 24 hours. Characters can (usually) carry items belonging to others without attuning as long as they don’t make any claim of ownership.

If an item has a keyed ability you can still attune to the item, but you will not be able to use the keyed ability unless you meet the key criteria.

Using Items

You cannot downcast spells/miracles when activating an item unless you were the lead embedder for the item.

Example: Kavara creates a Daily item of Fire Skin 4 and attunes to it, she can then cast this as Fire Skin 4 or a Fire Skin 3 for an hour etc. once per day. She then sells this item to Physara, who attunes to it. Physara can ONLY cast this as a Fire Skin 4 once per day.

When using a non-Permanent item anybody can change any of the parameters of the spell/miracle.

Example: Physara has a Daily item of Blink 2. Once per day she can cast Blink 2 as as a 30 pace blink, a blink going through solid objects and changing facing at the start etc.

If it is a Permanent item then the parameters are chosen when the item is first attuned to and ‘switched on’. Even if the item is removed, broken etc. the parameters cannot be changed again unless it is re-embedded.

Example: Physara has a Permanent item of Spell Immunity 1. When she first attunes to the item, she chooses to be immune to Ice Dart. This cannot be changed.

Identifying Items

The following skills & spells/miracles can help identify items:

Rec Magic

Will tell you if an item has been enchanted.

Detect Magic & Magic Sight

Will tell you if an item has been enchanted.

Magic Divination

Will tell you if an item has been enchanted, how many spells it contains and what school and level each of them are.

Rec Miracle

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated.

Power Sight

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated.

Discern <Principle>

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated to a particular Principle (e.g. Discern Death can determine if an item is consecrated to Death, Might, Anarchy or Balance. Note it will not tell you the specific Path).

Discern Path

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated and will tell you the exact Path (Justice, Life, Freedom, Chaos, Anarchy, Death, Might, Order, Balance or Nature).

Discern Nature

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated to the Path of Nature.

Discern Sect

Will tell you if an item has been consecrated to the Path of Nature and the exact Sect (Tree, Animal, Weather, Seasonal) if so.

For all of the above if you have the spell/miracle/skill active you can also:

You can determine the exact spell or miracle contained in a Scroll if you have the relevant Read School/Path Runes skill.

Example:

A group of bandits have the following items:
A) An Anarchy item containing a single use of Drain Life 4 and a single use of Drain Wounds 4.
B) A Demonology/Fire item containing a single use of Wrack 1 and a single use of Fire Dart 2.
C) A Chaos item containing a permanent Dexterity 1 (Hidden 1).
D) A Death item containing a daily Death Curse 4 (Hidden 1).

Biscuit has Consecrate Item (Chaos) 1.
Winterlight has Enchant Item (General) 1 & Enchant Item (Fire) 1.

Biscuit calls Power Sight as they approach which reveals item A.
Winterlight calls Magic Sight as they approach which reveals item B.

The bandits are killed and the party search the corpses.

Biscuit, with their Power Sight still running, touches all the items attempting to work out what they are. They know A is miraculous, but has no idea what it is, so they cast Discern Path on it; this reveals it to be an Anarchy item. They are able to determine C is a Chaos Item and as they can cast Dexterity 1 by ceremony they also knows it’s a permanent Dexterity 1. Still curious about A and being a dubious individual Biscuit takes it home and attunes to it; the full details of A are revealed to them. To Biscuit D is just a mundane item.

Winterlight, with her Magic Sight still running, touches all the items attempting to work out what they are. She knows B is magical and that it is enchanted to Fire. As she cannot cast Fire Dart she doesn’t know what effects it contains, so she casts Magic Divination on the item. This reveals it contains a level 1 Fire spell and also a level 1 Demonology spell. Knowing Demonology is illegal she decides not to attune to the item and hands it in to the authorities on her way home.

Destroying Items

Items do not gain any bonus for being magical/miraculous unless they are Permanent items with a spell/miracle that affects the item itself. Thus a magic Ring of Daily Heal Wounds 9 is as easy to destroy as a non-magical equivalent ring.

If a destroyed magic item is mended within its Degradation Time Interval, it will retain its magic.

Example: Churl has a Common copper ring with a Daily Harden 1. In a fight with a Chaos Priest, the ring is destroyed. As the degradation time for a Common item is 2 days, he has this amount of time to have it mended before its enchantment is lost.